Seven Grandfather Teachings

Seven Grandfather Teachings

Love (Zaagi’idiwin)

To know love is to know peace.  Love is based on affection, respect and kindness.  Love cannot be demanded…it must be earned and given freely from the goodness of your heart.

Bravery (Aakwa’ode’ewin)

To face life with courage is to know bravery.  It is the personal strength to face difficulties, obstacles and challenges.  It is the courage to make positive choices.  Never give-in and never give-up!

Humility (Dibaadendiziwin)

Humility is to accept yourself as a sacred part of creation.  Recognize the human need for balance in life. Know that you are equal to everyone else.  Take pride in what you do and share your accomplishments with others.

Honesty (Gwekwaadiziwin)

To walk through life with integrity is to know honesty.  Do not be deceitful or use self deception.

Respect (Minaadendamowin)

Respect is to honor our traditional roots and teachings.  Honor our families, other and ourselves.  Don’t hurt anything or anyone, on the outside or the inside.

Wisdom (Nbwaakaawin)

To cherish knowledge is to know wisdom.  Listen and use the wisdom of the elders. 

Truth (Debwewin)

To know the teachings of the 7 Grandfathers is to know the truth. Faithfully apply these teachings and trust in the Creator. Be true in everything you do.  Be true to yourself and true to your fellow man/fellow woman.  Understand it, speak it, live it!

The Seven Grandfather Teachings come from the Mishomis Book by Eddie Benton-Banai